Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Giles Award Winners

Giles Award Ceremony Group in Adinkra Hall
Giles Award Ceremony Group pictured along with Dr. Freda Scott Giles on April 19, 2024, in Adinkra Hall 

Spring 2020 celebrated 10 years of Giles Award recipients. See below for a list of all winners. 

2024 - Maya Brooks, Chera Jo Watts, & Caleb Snead

2023 - Cameron NeSmith & Deborah Ososanya

2022 - Ashley Crooks-Allen & Lynn Domkam

2021 - Sha'Mira Covington & Lla Anderson

2020 - Chanara Andrews & Quin Thomas

2019 - Marques Dexter & Jaquarius Raglin

2018 - Tareva L. Johnson & Erika Massie

2017 - Tifara Brown & James B. Wall

2016 - Faith Ellen Porter & Tyrel Dale

2015 - Shaunteri Skinner & Mansur Ali Buffins

2014 - Sierra Carter & Briana J. Farlow

2013 - Myasia S. Burns, Christopher O. Johnson, & Japera Johnson

2012 - Lauren Chambers

2011 - Ashley David & Morgann Ashley Lyles

Support African American Studies at UGA

The Institute defines support in diverse ways to give you as many options as possible to assist in our mission. We consider “friend-raising" as important as fund-raising. Your financial contributions and support help us to develop and strengthen our programs and offerings, both on campus and in the community. 

Your gift makes a big difference. Learn more about how you can donate today.

Study within African American cultural history provides a basis for understanding political, social, and economic relations throughout human history.